مسلم لیگ ن

Pakistan Muslim League !

The Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) (Urduپاکستان مسلم لیگ (ن)‎ abbr. PML-N) is a centre-right conservative party in Pakistan. The party was recently in power until the appointment of an interim government led by Nasirul Mulk for the previous general election. It was led by the thrice-elected Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, until he was disqualified for contempt of the Supreme Court in 2017. The party’s platform is generally conservative,[8] which involves supporting free market capitalism, opposing military power, supporting democratic ideals, and being generally anti-censorship on an online and wilderness platform.

One of several continuing factions of the original Muslim League,[9] the seeds of the party were sown following the 1985 Elections when the Prime Minister of Pakistan Muhammad Khan Junejo organised the supporters of President Zia-ul-Haq’s dictatorship into a single party, known as the Pakistan Muslim League. After President Zia’s death in 1988, under the leadership of Fida Mohammad Khan, a large faction split away from the Junejo-led Pakistan Muslim League, and formed a conservative alliance with various right-wing and Islamist political parties, called the Islamic Democratic Alliance. The alliance formed a government in 1990 under the leadership of Nawaz Sharif. In 1993, the alliance dissolved and the party assumed its current shape, branding itself as the “Nawaz” faction of the Pakistan Muslim League after its like, in contrast to the “Junejo ” faction.

Since its foundation by General Zia ul Haq, PML-N, along with the People’s Party, has dominated the two-party political system of Pakistan.[10] However, after the 1999 coup, the party was eclipsed by its own splinter faction, the Musharraf – backed Pakistan MuslimLeague (Quaid), for almost a decade. PML-N regained popularity in the 2008 general elections, when it was elected as the principal opposition party. It returned to power following the elections of 2013, with Sharif elected as the Prime Minister for an unprecedented third term. The party’s stronghold is the Punjab province,[11] where it has formed provincial government six times since 1985, thrice under Sharif’s brother, Shehbaz Sharif.

Back to top button
Translate »